Newtown

Like many I have been trying to come to terms with what happened in Newtown. I stood in the office on Friday and watched the news with men I work with. With men who have served in combat. I saw their eyes were as red as mine as we tried to maintain composure. As we tried to process what was unfolding before us. I have been so inconsolably sad since then. So sad and so horrified.

I know this is ostensibly a political blog, but politics just seem so much smaller today. I write today as a mom. On Friday I touched based with my 17-year old boy as I was heading out of town. I needed to know if he knew. I needed to know if he was OK. I needed to tell him I loved him. In the ways of the thoroughly modern teenage boy, we texted back and forth. He was OK, he knew, he didn’t want to talk about it and I let him know I loved him.

As any parent of a teenager will tell you, these can be trying times. The eye-rolling, the “Jeez Mom” exclamation, the not so subtle digs at my un-coolness (“Mom, it’s not the eighties anymore”) and the blood-pressure exploding “Mom, just relax” (and its variations) all serve to make some days seem like a never-ending contest of wills. It can be trying. It can be exhausting. But at least I have these moments.

20 little boys and girls were taken from their families in the most senseless and violent of ways. 20 families grieve a loss so deep and so painful one wonders how they will ever survive. 20 families would give anything for the chance at a teenage eye-roll or smart remark. 20 families would give anything to be able to have an argument over homework, bed-time, or an overdue haircut.

If there can be anything good that comes out of this, maybe it is the rest of us have been shown a devastating alternative to what we have. Maybe we will be better parents as a result. Maybe we will hold our kids just a little closer. Maybe we will turn off the TV and sit down to have dinner. Maybe we will slow the pace a bit. Maybe we will cherish more and criticize less.

I know this; my heart is heavy for Newtown, but more full for my son. I have been so blessed he has become a caring, nurturing, inquisitive, sardonic, opinionated, funny, and somewhat irreverent young man. Today, I thank God for every eye-roll and contests of will. I have what 20 families will not have. After Friday, I think I finally understand the gift of life and I will never take it for granted again.

Hold your children. Love them. Celebrate them. Pray they grow old. And maybe even appreciate those teenage years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment